Galderma has announced that the European Commission has granted Marketing Authorisation in Europe for Mirvaso® (brimonidine) 3 mg/g gel.

Mirvaso is an alpha-2 adrenergic receptor agonist that acts rapidly and can last for up to 12 hours. It is indicated for the symptomatic treatment of facial erythema (redness) of rosacea in adults.

‘Mirvaso is the only approved medicinal product that directly targets the facial redness of rosacea and provides an innovative therapy for the condition. Applied once-daily, Mirvaso works quickly to reduce the redness of rosacea,’ said Humberto C. Antunes, President and CEO of Galderma. ‘This is yet another milestone in Galderma’s continued R&D commitment to address the unmet needs of patients with skin conditions.’

The European Commission decision to grant Marketing Authorisation in Europe for Mirvaso is based on data collected from 553 patients enrolled in two phase 3 clinical trials of 1-month duration. The results from both studies showed that adults with rosacea erythema who used Mirvaso demonstrated significantly greater reduction of the facial redness than the ones who applied vehicle gel only. In addition, a long-term study in 449 subjects who used Mirvaso for up to 12-months demonstrated that Mirvaso was effective and well tolerated.

‘Rosacea is a chronic, inflammatory and vascular disorder affecting the face, with facial erythema (redness) being a prominent characteristic. If left untreated the condition often has a severe impact on patients’ quality of life,’ said Dr Alison Layton, Consultant Dermatologist at Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust, UK.

‘Up until now there has been no clinically approved treatment targeting the facial erythema of rosacea and Mirvaso can play a key role in the treatment of facial redness. Mirvaso offers patients an easy-to-apply, long-acting treatment with visible reductions in facial redness within 30 minutes of application — potentially giving them a better quality of life.’

Marketing Authorisation in Europe for Mirvaso is applicable to the 28 Member States of the European Union, as well as Iceland, Lichtenstein and Norway.